Free cookie consent management tool by TermsFeed

Delete Packages

On This Page

Overview

This page describes how to delete both prepared and deployed packages.

Delete a prepared package

A prepared package is defined as the package you prepare during development.

We recommend that you delete prepared packages in your source environment once the packages have been successfully deployed. This practice allows you to keep your applications clean, so long-running or unused packages don't build up over time. If your team works in sprints, you can also delete multiple packages in bulk at the end of each sprint or release.

The Enable Periodic Cleanup of Deployment Packages option in the Admin Console does not clean up prepared packages. However, if you choose to autmatically delete a package after a successful direct deployment or manual export, the prepared package is deleted along with the deployed package.

You can also manually delete a prepared package in the packages list.

To manually delete a prepared package:

  1. View the packages list.
  2. Select the checkbox next to the package name.
  3. Click DELETE. screenshot of Packages list with the delete button highlighted
  4. In the confirmation dialog, click DELETE. Appian deletes the package and removes it from the package list. This deletion does not delete the objects you added to the package, but it does delete any database scripts you added to the package.

If you want to delete a package that is associated with a release or included in a deployment with multiple packages:

  • Deleting the package will remove it from the release but does not delete the release itself or affect other packages in the release.
  • Deleting the package will not delete or affect other packages in the deployment.

Delete a deployed package

During deployment, Appian keeps a ZIP file of the package contents at the time of deployment. If you deployed multiple packages simultaneously, all the objects from the selected packages are in one ZIP file. This ZIP file is sometimes referred to as a deployed package or a deployment package. You can access this deployed package through the Deploy view.

Deleting a deployed package does not affect the original objects in the application. Deleting a successfully deployed package constructed during compare and deploy will also delete any database scripts or plug-ins you added at that time. Additionally, for ZIP files containing multiple deployed packages, the deployment audit trail may be affected since the combined ZIP file doesn't preserve individual package metadata in the same way.

It is a maintenance best practice to delete a deployed package as soon as it is no longer needed:

Feedback