Free cookie consent management tool by TermsFeed

Permissions

On This Page

Purpose

The Permissions page in the Admin Console allows you to control user actions to various actions in Appian apps, including Tempo.

Access

To access the Permissions page, go to the Admin Console. Then, in the left navigation menu, under System, click Permissions.

Settings

The Permissions page allows you to control user actions to various actions on Tempo.

User profile

The User Profile section allows you to specify what information users are allowed to update from their user profiles, and whether users will be able to see the profile details of other users.

Editable fields

The fields that are set to be not editable here are displayed but disabled to users in their user profiles. Each checkbox on the page corresponds to a set of user profile fields as follows:

  • Profile Photo: Profile photo
  • Cover Photo: Cover photo
  • Name: First name, middle name, nickname
  • Email: Email address
  • Phone numbers: Office telephone, mobile telephone
  • Location: City, state, country
  • Supervisor: Supervisor
  • Title: Title
  • Blurb: Blurb

Default user profile visibility

If this option is selected (the default) users will be able to see the profile details of a user if that user's role map has no viewers configured and notification emails sent by Appian will include users' display names. If unselected, no users will see that user's details unless they are explicitly added in the viewers role of that user and notification emails sent by Appian will only include users' usernames, not their display names. Regardless of the value given for this property, if the viewers role is non-empty, only those users set in the viewers role will be able to see that user's profile details.

Quick apps

Note:  The Quick Apps Designer is deprecated and will be removed in a future release of Appian.

Update Quick Apps settings on the Permissions page in the Admin Console. This section contains the configurations to enable Quick App creation.

Add users to the quick app creators role

This link opens the Quick App Creators group. Adding users to this role gives them access to the Quick Apps Designer (Deprecated).

Quick apps data source

The data source chosen in this dropdown is the location where tables will be generated and updated for new Quick Apps. No Quick Apps can be created until a value is selected here.

Changing this value will only affect new Quick Apps. Any existing Quick Apps will remain connected to the data source selected at the time they were created, even when the Quick App is updated from the Quick Apps Designer.

Note:  The Appian user must have the following permissions to the connected data source for Quick Apps to work correctly: CREATE, ALTER, DROP, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE.

Error messages

The Error Messages setting allows you to control the level of technical detail that you want to include in error messages that your basic users may encounter when working with expressions, interfaces, views, or actions. System administrators, and basic users in the (system) Designer group, will always see detailed error messages when working with these objects and components. Setting options are enabled or disabled; the default setting is enabled.

Detailed error messages

Enabling this setting provides basic users with detailed error messages that may include system information and object-specific information, like object references and details about why the expression error occurred. For example, the detailed error message below includes information about the expression error, the error type ID, the affected expression rule and parameter, and the code line where the error occurred.

Error Message Detailed

Simplified error messages

Disabling this setting prevents basic users from having access to unwanted technical information. Instead, they will see a simplified error message that includes an identifier and instructions to contact the application administrator as shown below.

Error Message Simplified

The application administrator should provide the system administrator with the Error Message Identifier so they can use it to view further details about the error in the Design Error log.

Note:  Detailed error messages are always logged in the design_errors.csv log.

Tempo

This section contains the configurations to control Tempo access.

Edit the tempo users group

This link opens the Tempo Users group. By default, all users can access Tempo. Removing members or membership rules from this group will prevent those users from accessing Tempo.

Process HQ

This section allows you to control whether AI-powered features are available in Process HQ. When enabled, the following features leverage AI Copilot in Process HQ:

These features are powered by Appian's private AI. Review additional requirements for using AI in Appian.

To enable users to access Process HQ, add them to the appropriate groups:

Feedback