|This content applies solely to Appian Portals, which may require an additional license purchase.|
The Portal Publishing Manager is an application that comes with your Appian environment when you purchase Appian Portals. Once you've upgraded, you can find the Portal Publishing Manager in the navigation menu of your Appian environment.
Within the Portal Publishing Manager, you can manage existing portals using a few different actions:
Checkout the sections below for information on what you can do and see in each action, as well as a few tips for managing your existing portals.
You can check out the portal details for any existing portal by selecting the portal from the dropdown.
Here, you can find:
Keep in mind that while you can see the service account associated with the portal, you won't be able to see specific credentials.
When troubleshooting errors with your portal, you can check your portal log file to find more information about the errors. Keep in mind that not all errors will show up in your portal log files. For more information about using log files to troubleshoot issues with portals, see Troubleshooting a Portal.
To view the log file for your portal:
If at any time you need to update a portal, use the Update Portal action and select the portal to update. If everything updates correctly, the confirmation page appears. The confirmation page shows you the interface name and the Portal URL.
Once you've republished, there shouldn't be any downtime for your users where they can't access the portal but it may take up to 5 minutes for your portal to reflect the newest published changes. If you try to update or publish again while the process is running, it could cause an error. We recommend waiting 10 minutes to verify whether you need to run the update process again.
If you updated using the same interface, the Portal URL will remain the same. If you chose a different interface, even one with the same name or title, the URL may change when you update your Portal.
Keep in mind that if you add document capabilities to your portal, or you set up a data source connected system to directly connect to an external database, you will need to add a service account to your portal.
Be aware that any portal published on any environment is still a public-facing website, regardless of whether it's published on a development or production environment.
To delete a portal, use the Delete Portal action and select the portal to delete. There will be a confirmation dialog confirming your choice. Be aware that the only way to recover a deleted portal is to re-publish the interface using the same name and configurations.
It's a best practice to delete any portals that are no longer needed from every environment.
On This Page