Managing Object Versions

This page explains how to manage versions of supported design objects:

  • Connected Systems
  • Constants
  • Decisions
  • Documents
  • Expression Rules
  • Integrations
  • Interfaces
  • Process Models
  • Process Reports
  • Web APIs

All versions of an object are saved and developers can view old versions. When an object is invoked, Appian always executes the latest version.

View Versions

Developers can access object versions if they have Viewer permissions. To view a version from the application view, select the appropriate object and click More > Versions.

compare any version

Click the name of a version to view its definition in a new tab or dialog (in the case of constants and connected systems). Use the filters to find a version created by a specific user or during a period of time.

Compare Versions

You can compare any version of any supported object type with another version to understand and track changes in properties, definitions, and security. To compare objects across environments, see compare and deploy.

To compare an older version of an object with the another version:

  1. From the application view, select the appropriate object.
  2. Select MORE > Versions.
  3. In the Compare Versions section, select a version to compare it with another version.
    • Note: Appian compares your selected version with the Latest version by default.
  4. Click COMPARE.

The version comparison opens in a new browser tab. Sections that do not contain any changes are collapsed by default. In addition to properties, definitions, and security, comparisons for rule objects track changes made to test values and test cases. For information about rule testing, see Rule Testing with Appian.

Diff of an Expression Rule

The changes made between the two versions are highlighted with the following colors:

Type of Change Color
Addition GREEN
Modification YELLOW
Deletion RED

Only published versions of process models can be compared. Process model comparisons can also be launched from the Versions dialog inside the process modeler.

Revert to a Previous Version

To revert to a previous version of an object from the versions dialog, click the name of the appropriate version and click SAVE.

Reverting to a previous version will create a new version of the object with the definition of the version you selected. Modifying a previous version and saving it as the latest version does not affect the previous version. Remember to close tabs with previous versions.

Delete Versions

Developers with at least Editor permissions to an object can delete its versions if the object has more than one version.

To delete a single version:

  1. In the Versions Dialog, click the X icon.
  2. In the Delete Version dialog, click DELETE.

Web APIs do not support deleting versions.

To delete multiple versions, select filter criteria to return the versions you want to delete. A message will appear that prompts you to delete the filtered versions. If the Latest version is included in the filtered results, it will not be included in the bulk deletion.

Open in Github

On This Page

FEEDBACK