Appian allows you to tailor user rights to the needs of your groups and your overall organization by configuring security settings for groups.
These group settings impact all users, whether or not they are members of the group.
Four types of membership determine the user rights available for a group - Administrator, Group Creator, Member and Viewer.
Appian defines three Visibility settings - Public, Personal, and Restricted. These settings have implications in group directory lists, group searches, group membership, and group administration.
All users can create groups of each setting, and the settings can be modified from the group's Properties dialog.
Public groups appear when browsing groups and in group search results.
When Public groups are added to the Tempo Message Audience Groups system group, all users can select and send messages to those groups.
See also: Tempo Message Audience Groups
All users can create a group with Personal security, but only the Group Creator can work with and modify the group. They can add other users as administrators and members, but members cannot see this group.
These groups are useful when organizing contact lists or assigning tasks. This security feature allows the members in your group to be aware of the group's existence, yet they cannot use the group or view other members.
Users, including group administrators, cannot send Tempo messages to a Personal group, even if the group is added to the Tempo Message Audience Groups system group.
This setting exposes the group to its members and administrators only, who can view the group when browsing. The group appears for these users within group search results.
If a Restricted group is added to the Tempo Message Audience Groups system group, and a member sends an open message to that group, non-members may still see the message, but the Restricted group's name will display as
[Group Name Not Available]. To avoid confusion for your users, you may want to limit the number of Restricted groups added to the Tempo Message Audience Groups system group.
[Group Name Not Available].
See also: Send a Message
The Group Membership Policy selected for a group determines whether or not users are free to join a group and whether or not approval is required before the user can be added to the group.
The possible policies are discussed below:
There is no option in Appian Designer to automatically join or request to join a group, and setting a group as Automatic or Exclusive no longer exposes these options. If needed, this functionality can be built into your application. Newly created groups default to Closed, and should remain as such.
By default, new groups in Appian Designer default to the following configuration:
The following table summarizes the various options and consequences for configuring group security.
|Restricted||Closed||High||Seen in directory and search results by Members and Administrators||Only Administrators may see members of the group|
|Restricted||Closed||Low||Seen in directory and search results by Members and Administrators||Anyone can view members|
|Personal||Closed||High||Never seen in directory and search results by all||Only Administrators may see members of the group|
|Public||Automatic||High||Seen in directory and search results by all||Only Administrators may see members of the group|
|Public||Automatic||Low||Seen in directory and search results by all||Anyone may view members|
|Public||Exclusive [Deprecated]||High||Seen in directory and search results by all||Only Administrators may see members of the group|
|Public||Exclusive [Deprecated]||Low||Seen in directory and search results by all||Anyone may view group members|
|Public||Closed||High||Seen in directory and search results by all||Only Administrators may see members of the group|
|Public||Closed||Low||Seen in directory and search results by all||Anyone may view group members|