Managing Object Versions

The content on this page explains how to manage versions of supported design objects:

  • Constants
  • Decisions
  • Documents
  • Expression Rules
  • Integrations
  • Interfaces
  • Process Models
  • Process Reports
  • Query Rules
  • Web APIs

All versions of an object are saved and designers can view the definitions of old versions; however, when invoked, it is always the latest version that executes.

View Versions

Versions of a single object can be accessed by users with Viewer permissions, by doing one of the following:

  • Select a single object in Appian Designer, click More from the toolbar and then click Versions
  • Open the object designer and go to Versions in the Settings menu

This option opens the Versions dialog with a list of versions:

Versions dialog

Click on the name of a particular version to open its definition in a new tab. If you're looking for a version created by a particular user or during a specific time period, use the filters to quickly narrow your search.

Compare Versions

The following object types allow a designer to compare the latest version with any of its previous versions to intuitively evaluate changes,

  • Constants
  • Documents
  • Expression Rules
  • Integrations (HTTP only)
  • Interfaces
  • Web APIs

To compare an older version of an object with the latest version,

  1. Open the Versions dialog for an object.
  2. Click the Compare with Latest icon against the version of the object you wish to compare. Versions Dialog with Diff Icon
  3. The version comparison opens in a new browser tab. Diff of an Expression Rule

Note: Sections that do not contain any changes are collapsed by default.

The changes made between the two versions are highlighted with the following colors:

Type of Change Color
Addition GREEN
Modification YELLOW
Deletion RED

Revert to a Previous Version

If you need to revert to an older version of an object, open the older version and click Save. This will create a new version of the object with the definition that is currently loaded in the designer. Modifying a previous version and saving it as the latest version does not affect the old version. To avoid confusion, you should close the tab from which you opened the Versions dialog, since it now contains an old version.

Delete Versions

Designers with at least Editor permissions to an object can delete its versions, so long as the object has more than one version. To delete a single version, click the corresponding red X in the rightmost column of the grid. A dialog will appear, asking you to confirm that you want to delete that version

Web APIs do not support deleting versions.

To delete multiple versions, select filter criteria that return the versions you want to delete. A message will appear that prompts you to delete the filtered versions. If the Latest version is included in the filtered results, it will not be included in the bulk deletion. This allows for easier and faster cleanup of object versions, in order to maintain useful versions and prevent version buildup that may affect engine memory.

Bulk delete object versions

FEEDBACK