This page covers all the features in the Monitoring View of Appian Designer.
Monitoring view appears at the top of Appian Designer. This view shows all process instances in the Appian System. The Monitoring view is also available within an application, and will only show process instances for process models found within that application.
For more information about application operations, see Applications page.
By default, the processes list displays processes that have started in the last 7 days. Each process has the following information:
Selecting Show process details in the upper right above the processes list will display additional columns:
A banner above the processes list notifies designers of unresolved errors that have occurred in the last 24 hours. Clicking on View all errors will open a dialog listing detailed information about all process errors, with the ability to filter on them.
By default, the list will only display the unresolved errors that require attention. Resolved errors can be viewed by clicking Show resolved errors in the upper right.
Being able to view process errors in Appian Designer is a new feature released in Appian 18.2. Any errors that have occurred prior to being upgraded to 18.2 will not be available in the monitoring views. If an alert was configured and hasn't yet expired, the error can still be viewed on the Alerts page in the legacy Application Portal.
The left-hand pane of the Monitoring view contains the search and filter options. By default, a search term will be run against process names. Once searched, the default search option can be changed to Search ID, which will run the search term against the process ID.
Designers can also filter process results in the following ways:
When a process is marked for selection, options will appear above the processes list. Multiple processes can be selected at one time, which will allow for bulk operations. However, not all options support bulk operation.
The following options available in the Objects view:
In addition to acting on multiple processes on a single page, designers can act on multiple pages of processes. This option appears when all processes on the current page have been selected.
The gray banner below the toolbar displays the option to select all processes that match the current filter criteria, up to 10,000 processes.
In addition to configuring the security settings associated with a process model, Appian allows users with sufficient rights to configure the security associated with a process. By default, all processes inherit security from their process models. The inherited security can be overridden through the Modify Process Security Smart Service or by selecting the Security option in Monitoring view. Selecting the Security option will open a process security dialog.
The different roles that can be assigned to actors in a process are described in the following tables. Only Process Administrators of a process model and System Administrators have the necessary security rights to provide other users and groups access to a running process.
|Reassign tasks assigned to me, when reassignment is enabled||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|View tasks assigned to other users||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||No|
|Reassign tasks assigned to other users, regardless of whether reassignment is enabled||Yes||Yes||Yes||No||No|
|View and complete tasks assigned to other users||Yes||Yes||No||No||No|
Any user, by default, can view and complete tasks assigned to them.
|Add attachments/notes to a process||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||No|
|Update process variables||Yes||Yes||Yes||No||No|
|Remove attachments/notes from a process||Yes||No||Yes||No||No|
|Change process security roles for other users and groups||Yes||No||No||No||No|
|Perform in-flight modifications to the process||Yes||No||No||No||No|
|Stop or pause a process||Yes||No||No||No||No|
|Delete a process||Yes||No||No||No||No|
|View a process report and process variable values||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||No|
|View a task report containing tasks from this process||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||No|
|View a node report||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||No|
If a user or group is assigned the
Deny role they cannot perform any action associated with the selected process. The right to view assigned tasks cannot be removed.
In addition to the search and filter options on the left-hand pane of the Monitoring view, there is a link for designers to switch to the customizable report. Clicking this link opens the All Processes process report in a new tab. Changes to the All Processes report do not affect the Monitoring view in Appian Designer and vice versa. This report does not allow you to view process errors.