System Groups

Overview

Certain system groups are available to assist you with administering components of the application suite.

The following system groups are available:

System groups can be modified by the Administrator user account, System Administrator users, or the Group Administrator(s) with the following restrictions:

  • Groups cannot be deleted through an interface.
  • Group names cannot be changed from an interface.
  • Groups have the same UUID on all systems.

Process Model Creators

Basic Users must be a member of the Process Model Creators group in order to create new process models, or configure the Query Database or Call Web Service Smart Services.

  • You can create a group membership rule that automatically grants all basic users the right to create process models, if you prefer.
  • System Administrator users do not need to be members of this group to create process models.

See also: Add Users to Groups

The Process Model Creators group is configured with the following security settings:

  • Restricted
    • Only members and administrators can view the group.
  • Closed membership policy
    • Group administrators must select members.
  • Low privacy
    • Members of the group can view each other.

NOTE: Users added to the Process Model Creators Group are automatically added to the Designer Role which gives them access to design all aspects of an application.

See also: User Roles

Tempo Message Audience Groups

This system group is used to define available target groups for Tempo feed entries.

Add Groups as Members

Only groups are recognized as members; individual users are ignored and will have no impact. Once membership is updated and saved, the changes are reflected to users when they log back into the system.

Only Public and Restricted groups can be added to the Tempo Message Audience Groups system group. Each group added becomes available for its members to select and send messages to it on the News Feed. Whether or not non-members can select the enabled groups or see messages sent to these groups depends on the security settings for the group and message.

  • Public Groups: If the group is Public, all users can see and send messages to the group. If the message is open, all users can search for and see it in their News feed. If the message is locked, only members of the group and the message author can search for and see it in their News feed.
  • Restricted Groups: If the group is Restricted, only members and administrators are able to see and send messages to the group. If the message is open, all users can search for and see it in their News feed, but the group name displays as [Group Name Not Available] for non-members. If the message is locked, only members of the group and the message author can search for and see it in their News feed and the group name displays correctly.

See also: Send a Message

NOTE: Any users or groups added to these system groups also gain the same functionality within Appian for Mobile Devices applications.

Security Settings

The Tempo Message Audience Groups system group is configured with the following security settings:

  • Personal security
    • It can only be viewed by administrators.
  • Closed membership policy
    • Group administrators must select members.
  • High privacy
    • Only administrators can view group members.
FEEDBACK