Managing Object Versions

The content on this page explains how to manage versions of supported design objects:

  • Interfaces
  • Expression rules
  • Decisions
  • Integrations
  • Web APIs
  • Constants
  • Query rules
  • Documents
  • Process Models

All versions of an object are saved and designers can view the definitions of old versions; however, when invoked, it is always the latest version that executes.

View Versions

Versions of a single object can be accessed by users with Viewer permissions, by doing one of the following:

  • Select a single object in Appian Designer and select Versions from the toolbar
  • Open the object designer and go to Versions in the Settings menu

This option opens the Versions dialog with a list of versions:

Versions dialog

Revert to a Previous Version

If you wish to revert to an older version, open that version by clicking on it and save it. This will create a new version of the object with the definition that is currently loaded in the designer. Modifying a previous version and saving it as the latest version does not affect the old version. To avoid confusion, you should close the tab from which you opened the Versions dialog, since it now contains an old version.

Delete Versions

Versions can be deleted by users with Editor permissions and if there are multiple versions. A single version can be deleted by clicking the corresponding red X in the rightmost column of the versions grid.

Bulk deletion can be done by selecting filter criteria that returns multiple versions, which causes a message to appear that prompts you to delete the filtered versions. If the latest version is included in the filtered results, it will not be affected by the bulk deletion. This allows for easier and faster cleanup of object versions, in order to maintain useful versions and prevent version buildup that may affect engine memory.

Bulk delete object versions

FEEDBACK