File Expiration

By default, files in the System Knowledge Center and My Private Knowledge Center expire after 9999 days, files in the Temporary Documents Knowledge Center expire after one year (365 days), and files stored in all other knowledge centers never expire.

After a file expires, viewers and authors of the file cannot access it unless the file is reinstated.

Specifying the Expiration Duration for a Knowledge Center

A knowledge center's Expiration Duriation determines how long a file can stay in a knowledge center before it expires. The default settings are mentioned above.

System administrators and knowledge center administrators can modify this setting.

  1. Click the Documents tab on the toolbar.
  2. Search for and open theknowledge center you want to modify
    • If you have administrator rights to the knowledge center, an Expiration Duration button appears on the toolbar.
  3. Click Expiration Duration.
  4. Enter a new number of days in which a file can exist before it expires.
    • To prevent files from ever expiring in that knowledge center, enter 0.
  5. Click OK.

Viewing Expired Files

System administrators and knowledge center administrators can view expired files.

If one or more files in a knowledge center have expired or are within 14 days of expiring, a button appears on the knowledge center's toolbar next to Expiration Duration indicating the number of files expired or soon-to-be expired. For example, 27 Expirations . Click this button to view a list of these files, and select a file from the list to open it.

Reinstating an Expired File

System administrators and knowledge center administrators can also reinstate an expired file by resetting the upload date to today.

To reinstate a single file, open the list of expired files as mentioned above, select the checkbox next to the file, and click Reset.

To reinstate all files within a knowledge center, you can reset the Expiration Duration to a longer duration; however, this affects all files in the knowledge center AND the original upload date is still used on each file.

Deleting an Expired File

Even though expired files are not accessible by viewers and authors, they are still a part of the system.

To delete an expired file, open the list of expired files as mentioned above, select the checkbox next to the file, and click Delete.

FEEDBACK