Setting Folder User Rights

  You can set user rights for a folder after it is created by selecting it and clicking Security on the toolbar, when viewing the contents of its knowledge center or parent folder.

Clear the Inherit security from parent checkbox. Once this option is cleared, you can modify the access levels of the existing users. The Remove button also appears.

  • Only users and groups that are associated with the knowledge center appear in the security dialog box.
  • Additional users or groups cannot be added to a folder. They must be added to the knowledge center.
  • Users or groups with Administrator or Deny rights for the knowledge center cannot be changed.

Removing Users and Groups from Folder Access

  • When viewing the contents of its knowledge center or parent folder, select the checkbox next to the folder.
  • Click the Security button.
  • Clear the Inherit security from parent checkbox. Once this option is cleared, you can modify the access levels of the existing users. The Remove button also appears. Only users and groups that are associated with the knowledge center appear in the security dialog box.
  • Select the user or group.
  • Click Remove. — or —
  • Click the Clear button to remove all existing users and groups (except for users with Administrator or Deny rights in the knowledge center).

Folder Access Rules

The access levels that you are allowed to select for the folder users are determined by their access to the knowledge center. The following rules apply to folder access levels.

  • Knowledge center administrators must be folder Administrators.

  • Authors of the knowledge center can have Author, Read-Only, or Deny access (no access) to the folder.

  • Read-Only users of the knowledge center can only have Read-Only, or Deny access (no access) to the folder.

These limitations on the permissible access levels are reflected in the options displayed for each user; access levels that are not permissible appear disabled.

Audit Trail

It is possible to collect data regarding changes to user-rights in Appian Document management when you use a process to perform the changes.

FEEDBACK