Group Management

Group administrators and group creators have administrative rights for groups.

  • Group administration rights allow you to:
    • Add group administrators
    • Add members
    • Modify group administrators and members
    • Create and modify membership rules
    • Delete the group.

Group Creators or Group Administrators can view these options from the Group Details page of the group they need to administer.

Group Details Page

The following options are displayed on the Group Details page.

Action Instruction
Add members to a group
  • Click the Members tab.
  • Click — or —
    .
  • Select the user or group.
View and delete members of the group
  • Click the Members tab.
  • Select the members.
  • Click .
Add administrators to the group
  • Click the Administrators tab.
  • Click — or —
  • Select the user or group.
Review and delete administrators
  • Click the Administrators tab.
  • Click .
Create and modify membership rules which grant membership to users who satisfy the requirements
  • Click the Rules tab.
View the group's homepage
  • Click .
Add or change the parent group of a department or team
  • On the Properties tab, browse for and select the parent group.
  • Click Update Group.
Allow department administrators to create other departments under the existing department
  • On the Properties tab, select Yes for Delegated Creation.
  • Click Update Group.
Send a request to join a group
  • Click .
Invite users to join a group
  • Click .
Invite groups to join a group
  • Click .
Add the group to your list of favorites for easy access in pickers
  • Click .
Delete a group
  • Click .

Administrators of groups are displayed in the same list of administrators as users. The email and phone # fields are blank.

Updates to group membership of groups specified as administrators immediately translate into the appropriate privileges for members. If Group 1 is an administrator of Group 2, adding User 1 to Group 1 automatically and immediately makes her an administrator of Group 2.

View or Edit Members

Group Creators and Group Administrators can view and remove group's members. To remove members, select all members that you wish to remove from the group. Click Remove Members.

View or Edit Group Administrators

Group Creators and Group Administrators can view and remove a group's administrators. To remove group administrators or creators from administrative rights, select all of the group administrators that you want to remove from the group. Click Remove.

View or Edit Group Membership Rules

Another way of adding members to a group is by defining rules. Members added by rules take precedence over members added explicitly. If you decided to add users to a group by defining membership rules, the next step involves adding rules using the Rules Wizard.

  • Define the membership criteria.
  • Click add users since you want to add users to this group.
  • Select the search criteria. For example, if you want to add users with the last name Smith, select LastName from the first drop down box and equals from the second drop down box.
  • If you want to add more rules, click more.
  • Click done when you have added your rules.
  • Click Finished.

To view the added members, click View/Edit Members under Group Profile Tools.

Changes to rules take effect with the next user who is added or deleted for a given group.

Deleting a Group

Group Creators or Group Administrators can delete a group by clicking Delete on the Group Details page.

Joining a Group

All registered users can join a group (based on the group's membership policy) using this option, which is listed in Group Profile Tools. Search for the group that you would like to join. Click the group name on the search results page to view the "Group Detail" page. Click Join (and confirm your selection) to join this public group. You may also ask a Group Creator or a Group Administrator to add you as a member. Notifications of your intent to join a group will be sent to those users who are explicitly designated as administrators for the group the user wishes to join. This is meant to exclude administrators of higher level groups which contain the group that the user wishes to join from receiving join request alerts.

17.1

On This Page

FEEDBACK