Group Details

On the People view, you can search for Appian groups using the Search field in the left navigation. Search results appear as you type.

Image:search_for_people.gif

Selecting a group from the search results, opens the group's Details view for the selected group.

Image:userdetails.gif

The Details view includes the sections explained below.

Details Tab

A Details tab allows the Administrator, system administrators, and group administrators to edit a group and its properties. - Users who create a group are automatically added as group administrators. - Group members and non-members can access the Details page, but cannot edit its settings.

The functionality available on each tab of the Details tab is specific to each type of task you need to perform. - Members: view, add, and modify group membership right. See also: Adding Group Members Individually. - Administrators: view, add, and modify group administration rights. See also: Adding Group Administrators. - Properties: view and modify group properties and security settings. Group properties include the group's ID, UUID, name, and description. See also: Security Settings. - Rules: view, add, and modify group membership rules. See also: Defining a Rule for Adding Users.

Details Tab User Rights

The following table lists the user rights available for a group's Details tab apart from those controlled by the group's security setting.

See below: Security Settings.

Right Administrator/System Administrators Group Administrators Basic Users
View numbers of group members and administrators broken down by users and groups. X X X
View the group's type, ID, UUID, name, description, creation timestamp, and creator. X X X
Add users and other groups to group membership. X X
View, add, modify, or remove group membership rules. X X
View or update the Delegated Creation option. X X
Update group name and description. X X
View or update the Parent Group. X X
View or update group security settings. X X
Delete the group. X X

Security Settings

The following security settings are available for groups.

Option Description
Type (who can view the group)
  • Public: Everyone can view the group.
  • Personal: Only the Administrator user, system administrator users, or group administrators can view the group.
  • Restricted: Only members and administrators can view the group.
Membership policy
  • Automatic: Any user can join the group.
  • [Deprecated] Exclusive: Users can request membership.
  • Closed: Administrators must select the users and groups that are members.
Privacy Policy
  • Low: Members can view the list of other members.
  • High: Only Administrators can view the list of members.

See also: Administering Teams and Departments

Tasks Tab

When you click on the Tasks tab for a group, the report displayed includes the following information: - Tasks assigned to the group, but not yet accepted by anyone. - Tasks accepted by any group member (regardless of original assignment). - Tasks assigned to any group member, but not yet accepted.

NOTE: Tasks assigned to the group AND at least one member will NOT be counted twice. Only the task assigned to the group will be displayed. The report does NOT include tasks assigned to the selected group and others, and accepted by someone outside of the group.

The Group Tasks report shows a column for Assigned to which displays the assignee (if not accepted) or the owner (if accepted). If an unaccepted task is assigned to the selected group, and other users and groups, only the selected group name is displayed.

The report also shows a column for Status: Assigned or Accepted.

In addition to these tabs, the following actions can be taken from the Tasks toolbar, which is only present when the Tasks tab is selected.

Click To...
Save_view.gif Save the current task view.
Print_view.gif Print a task view.
Email_view.gif Email the task view to a selected users or groups within the system.
Export_view.gif Export the data displayed within the task view to Microsoft Excel.
Refresh_view.gif Refresh the task view.
Edit_view.gif Configure the task view. Selecting Edit displays the Task View Options interface in a new window.

See also: Task Management

Unlike other views, Group and User Views cannot be shared. These views can be customized and saved, but a copy of the view cannot be created.

Task Report Filters

All tasks displayed within a grid can be filtered. By default, the tasks toolbar consists of two quick filters. All existing quick filters can be modified, or additional quick filters may be added by editing the task view.

Image:Filters.gif

The table below lists the default quick filters in the Tasks toolbar and the options that are made available for selection in each of these filters.

Filter Name Available Options
Started
  • Any Time(Default Option)
  • Today
  • Last 7 days
  • Last 30 days
  • Last 365 days
Status
  • All(Default Option)
  • Assigned
  • Accepted

Selecting one of the above options results in processes that satisfy the rule imposed by the selected filter appearing within the grid.

Task Management Options

Each task listed in the report has a checkbox associated with it. Selecting this checkbox displays another toolbar from which actions can be performed on the selected task. For an administrator of the underlying process, the following task-management options are available:

Click To. . .

Re_start_node.gif

Start a new instance of the selected task(s).

Pause_icon.gif

Pause the selected task(s).

Cancel_icon.gif

Cancel the selected task(s).

Reassign_icon.gif

Reassign the task to another user or group in the system.
Change_priority_icon.gif Change the task priority.

Modify_security.gif

Modify the security for the underlying process.

When multiple tasks are selected, only the Start, Pause, and Cancel buttons are displayed on the toolbar. These are the only actions that can be performed on multiple tasks.

Report Example

Say that the Group Tasks report for group Promotions shows tasks Review, Recommend, and Update assigned to group Promotions.

The Status is Assigned for all three tasks.

Once an Update task is accepted by a member of the Promotions group, the report shows tasks Review and Recommend assigned to group Promotions with the status set to Assigned and task Update assigned to the aforementioned user with the status set to Accepted.

If an Update is reassigned to group Promotions and the user, it shows up only once in the report as assigned to the Promotions group. If task Remove is then assigned to the user, it appears in the report as assigned to the user.

If a task named Add Promotion is assigned to groups named Promotions and Events, the group Promotions task report initially displays task Add Promotion. If someone in group Events accepts task Add Promotion, it disappears from the group Promotions task report.

When viewing a group's tasks, you can only view the tasks that are issued by processes to which you have access. You must have Process Administrator or Editor level access to a process in order to view the tasks that are issued by the process. Depending on the level of access you have to the underlying process, you can perform different actions with a group's tasks. For example, as a process administrator of the underlying process, you can reassign the task to another user or complete it yourself.

Pages Tab

Selecting this tab allows users (with sufficient rights) to view all of a group's portal pages. The pages are listed within a grid that lists the page name, the date on which the page was created, the page type, the page category, the department/team the page is associated with, and a delete button that allows you to delete the page.

Users with insufficient user rights to view a group's details can view the page, but no data appears under each of the tabs.

17.1

On This Page

FEEDBACK