While viewing a process in Edit mode, you can make changes to the sequence flow in an active process. The palette of flow activities is displayed.
Viewing a Process in Edit Mode
- From the process details page of a process, click the Edit Process button. The Process Modeler opens in a new window.
- The Process Model Edit Mode differs from other modes in the following ways:
- The toolbar displays a different set of options. See [Options for Editing a Process Model](Options_for_
- _Process_Model.md) for the complete list.
- The flow objects display with different colored borders depending on their status:
- * Blue - Completed flows and flow objects. (See the Start Event object below.)
- * Green - Active flow objects. (See the Participation object below.)
- * Red - Paused flow objects.
- * Red with a slash (Ø) through the object - Flow objects that are canceled by exception.
- * No color - Flow objects that are not yet activated by the sequence flow.
Editing a Running Process
When you open a running process for editing, it pauses the process.
If there are multiple users at different steps, the following rules apply.
- Users are affected by changes to rules or other node changes once they reach the process step that corresponds with the node where the changes were made.
- If you change the rules for a particular node, users who have already completed the corresponding process action are not affected. Only process users who have yet reached the updated step are affected by the new rules.
- Additional nodes and connectors can be added and business rules can be changed to send users down a new process flow. Such changes are often best configured using an Exception flow.
- Activating a timer event locks in a schedule for that event, which cannot be changed in an active process flow. You must delete and recreate the event to apply new timer settings.
- To save the selected process as a new version, you must have the right to save changes in the Process Model Folder where the process model is stored. This is in addition to having administrator level access to a process, and editor level access to the process model.
When a user is making changes to a selected process, other users cannot edit the same process; however, multiple users can edit different running instances of the same process model.
- Depending on the security rights of the user, if a user attempts to change a process that is in use, a message is displayed asking her to break the security lock on the process. If the security lock is broken, the first editor of the process is prevented from making further edits. The new user can then make changes.
- If the new user decides not to break the security lock, the process opens in the process modeler in read-only mode.
Once you have made the desired changes, there are two ways in which they can be saved or applied.
Click File and select one of the following options. Keep in mind the impact each option has on Process Model Versioning.
- If you select Apply Changes, any alterations you make to this process model are only applied to this particular instance of the process. They are not saved for later use. Future executions of the process do not reflect the changes made.
— OR —
- Save New Version
If you select Save New Version, changes made are saved as a minor version update to the latest published version of the process model. (Minor version updates must be published before they appear in new instances of the process model).
Once a process is modified, it is validated. Any validation errors are displayed on the modeler interface. Validation errors must be resolved before changes can be applied to the process or process model successfully.
Switching Between Edit Mode and Monitor Mode
- Click the Mode list and select Monitor to switch to Monitor Mode. The process opens in monitor mode on a new tab in the Process Modeler.