Configuring Process Security

In addition to configuring the security settings associated with a process model, Appian allows users with sufficient rights to configure the security associated with a process. By default, all processes inherit security from their process model. The inherited security can be overridden from the process's security settings menu or through the Modify Process Security Smart Service.

You can access the security settings for an active process from its Process Details and Process Dashboard pages.

Changing the security of a process does not automatically update the security of a process dashboard.

Updating Security Settings for a Running Process

  • From the Process Details or Process Dashboard toolbar, click Security. The Process Security dialog box is displayed.

Process Role Permissions

The different roles that can be assigned to actors in a process are described in the following tables.

Managing Tasks

Operation Process Administrator Editor Manager Viewer Initiator
Reassign tasks assigned to me, when reassignment is enabled Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
View tasks assigned to other users Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Reassign tasks assigned to other users, regardless of whether reassignment is enabled Yes Yes Yes No No
View and complete tasks assigned to other users Yes Yes No No No

Note: Any user, by default, can view and complete tasks assigned to them.

Making Process Edits

Operation Process Administrator Editor Manager Viewer Initiator
Add attachments/notes to a process Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Update process variables Yes Yes Yes No No
Remove attachments/notes from a process Yes No Yes No No
Change process security roles for other users and groups Yes No No No No
Perform in-flight modifications to the process Yes No No No No
Stop or pause a process Yes No No No No
Delete a process Yes No No No No

Viewing Process Data

Operation Process Administrator Editor Manager Viewer Initiator
View a process report and process variable values Yes Yes Yes Yes No
View a task report containing tasks from this process Yes Yes Yes Yes No
View a node report Yes Yes Yes Yes No

Deny Role

  • If a user or group is assigned the Deny role they cannot perform any action associated with the selected process.
  • The right to view assigned tasks cannot be removed.

Only Process Administrators of a process model and System Administrators have the necessary security rights to provide other users and groups access to a running process.

Process Security Toolbar

The Process Security Toolbar permits administrators to add or remove users and groups who have access to a running process. The different options available through the toolbar are listed in the table below:

To... Click... Description
Select all/none of the users on the list.
Clicking this button toggles between selecting (Select All) or clearing (Select None) of the listed users and groups.
Browse for users and groups.
Click this button to display the Choose Groups and Users dialog box from which you can select multiple users and groups for role assignment.
Remove users and groups.
Select all users and groups that you wish to remove and click Remove. To select multiple users and groups, press and hold the (Ctrl) key and click multiple rows.
Revert back to the security settings defined in the underlying process model.
Select this button to revert back to the security settings defined in the underlying process model.

See also: Configuring Process Model Security

17.1

On This Page

FEEDBACK