Configuring Process Model Security

Configuring Process Model Security

By default, designers are assigned the Process Administrator security for a process model they create. All other actors associated with a process model must be assigned security rights using the Process Model Security dialog box.

  • Only a Process Administrator or a System Administrator can grant other users and groups access to a process model.
  • You can have multiple Process Administrators for a process model.
  • If there are multiple owners, the last user who saved/published the process model is always the designer of the process model.

Apart from having the necessary security privileges for a process model, users must also have access to the folder in which the process model resides. See also: Process Folder Security

You can access the Process Model Security dialog box (shown below) through the Process Modeler or the Processes tab.

  • In the Process Modeler, click File > Security.
  • In the Processes tab, open the process model details page and click Security.

When viewing the Process Model Security dialog box, configure the process model security by selecting the desired security setting for the users or groups listed. The rights for each security setting are listed in the table below.

Actions Process Administrator Editor Manager Viewer Initiator
Start the Process Model X X X X X
Star the Process Model X X X X X
View the Process Model X X X X
View Process Model Reports X X X X
Add Attachment/Note to a Process Model X X X
Override Task Assignment (whether or not reassignment is allowed) X X X
Edit the Process Model X X
Save the Process Model X X
View the Process Model Documentation X X
View User/Group Security Rights Assigned for a Process Model. X
Change User/Group Security Rights Assigned for a Process Model. X
Delete Process Model X
Override a Lock Placed on the Process Model X
Publish the Process Model X
Remove Attachment/Note from a Process Model X

Deny

If a user or group is assigned to Deny security rights, they cannot perform any action associated with the process model.

  • You cannot remove the right to view assigned tasks.

Other Toolbar Options

The other options available through the toolbar in the Process Model Security dialog box are listed in the table below:

To... Click... Description
Select all/none of the users in the list. Image:select_all_none.gif Clicking this button allows you to either select all or none of the users/groups listed on the process model security dialog box. When all users/groups are selected, you can set process model security for all users and groups simultaneously.
Remove users and groups from the list. Image:remove_button.gif Select all users and groups that you want to remove and click Remove. To select multiple users and groups, press and hold the <Ctrl> key.

Adding Users and Groups to the Role Map

The Process Model Security Toolbar allows administrators to add users or groups to the process model role map.

To do so, complete the following:

  1. Click Add Users & Groups.
    • The Choose Groups and Users dialog box displays.
  2. Select the users and groups for which process model security must be configured.
  3. Once you have selected all relevant users and groups, click OK.
    • All selected users and groups appear in the Process Model Security dialog box.

Best Practice: We recommend using groups for managing process model user rights.

  • Groups and group references in role maps can be exported and imported along with your process models and process model folders.

See Also

FEEDBACK